1. Home
  2. Templates
  3. Template Grading

Template Grading

To provide an overall mark for an assessment the grading feature needs to be configured. To access the grading feature  the user should:


  1. Navigate to “Templates” in the main navigation bar.
  2. Open an existing template and click “Create Draft” or create a new one.
  3. Navigate to the “Set Grading” tab.


The template must have its requirements and scoring configured before setting up the grades. The system will choose a default scoring and grading scheme, but these generally need to be customised by the user.

There are 6 different types of grading that can be used.


1. Absolute – The weights ( values ) of the scores are calculated to a total rounded up whole number. E.g. 75/250


2. Percentage – the total value of the assessment is calculated, and a percentage is calculated as its overall mark. The system uses this type by default.


3.Percentage (with section grading) – this is the same as above, but additionally grades each section.  Eg. overall the assessment may be a pass at 80%, but you will see the percentage for each section and whether it is considered a pass or fail.


4.Percentage deducted from 100 – This Grading type will deduct the weights on the scores from 100. This means it is possible to be given a negative percentage. E.g If I use the default Yes/No scoring scheme and have 15 requirements, the lowest possible score I could be given is -50%. This is because Yes has a weight of 10, which will turn to -10.



This type of grading would typically require a new scoring scheme as the weights now become negatives weights, where with other grading schemes, they are positive.

5.Rules based – rules are a sequence of pre-defined conditions that evaluate an assessments grade, based on how many specific scores are chosen within an assessment. For example:


Example of Rules Based Grading



Define the Assessment Scoring Scheme:

Scores: Pass, Fail, NA


Define the Grades using Rules ( conditions )

Grade: Compliant

Rule: If “pass” >= 6 and “Fail” <=1


Grade: Non-Compliant

Rule: If “pass” < 6 and “Fail” > 1


So this states that an assessment will only get a “compliant” grade if it has 6 or more “pass” scores, AND 1 or less “fail” scores in it. Otherwise if the assessment has less than 6 “pass” scores AND more than 1 “Fail” score then it’s grade will be “Non-Compliant”.

6.Non-Graded – the assessment won’t be graded. This can typically be used when the assessment is evaluated solely by the scores, or if it’s just a checklist type assessment.


Was this article helpful?

Related Articles